"Green Cities - heading to the future" contest is aimed at those towns, which carry out activities aimed at environmental protection with the use of highly-innovative ecological solutions. Up to date, there have been six editions of the European Green

Capital contest. This year’s edition of the Green Cities is the second one held in Poland.

The contest promotes modern, urban ecological investments and innovative activities aimed at sustainable development of the cities.

The inspiration for the "Green Cities - heading to the future," has been the idea of the European Green Capital, created in 2008 by Jüri Ratas, the then mayor of Tallin, Estonia. The whole concept is aimed at improving urban environmental conditions by such activities as: increasing the numbers of urban green areas, implementing innovative solutions regarding waste management, sustainable transport or noise reduction.

Up to date, six editions of the European Green Capital contest took place. The following capitals were awarded the name of the European Green Capital:  Stockholm, Hamburg, Vitoria, Nantes, Copenhagen, and Bristol.

European Green Capital Website - ec.europa.eu

How to apply

To take part in the contest, one has to submit both the electronic as well as the paper version of the following documents:

1. Contest application form

Please fill in only those parts that apply to your project. Describe your project in detail and present the eco-friendly effects of its undertaking.

2. Category-labelled contest application form:

  • ENVIRONMENT AND HEALTH: projects that have a direct impact on the health of the citizens; especially encouraged are those projects dealing with sustainable transport, urban greenery, and air protection.
  • SAVING RESOURCES: projects that have a direct impact on saving natural resources, especially those projects that deal with water and wastewater management as well as water resources protection and water management; waste management, energy efficiency.

  • ENVIRONMENTAL EDUCATION AND  TEACHING: educational projects, carried out by the cities, that promoted pro-eco behaviors among the citizens. 

Read more here APPLICATIONS


Deadline for submitting contest application form 09.10.2015 (date of receipt)
Official announcement of results 27.10.2015

Awarded cities will take part in scheduled study visits:
Nantes – 3-6. 11. 2015
Ljubljana – 17-20.11. 2015
Nijmegen – 24-27. 11. 2015

A feedback session on study visits and the official presentation of the awards will be held during a gala in Warsaw on 04.12.2015.


The main prize in the contest is the title of the Green Capital of Poland and a study visit to one of the three European former finalists of the European Green Capital contest.

Ljubljana (Slovenia)

Ljubljana is the cultural, political and green heart of Slovenia and the recipient of prestigious 2015 "Tourism of Tomorrow" award. Thanks to its sustainable development the city combines advantages of being a typical metropolis and people-friendly city.  Surrounded by the Adriatic Coast, mountain ranges and hills covered with vines, as well as many beautiful historical towns, Ljubljana is the perfect place to visit.


Nantes (France)

Nantes is one of the best examples of successful undertaking of activities and investments related to sustainable transport and air protection. The historical roots of the city go as far back as to the times prior to the Roman Empire. Together with Saint Nazaire Nantes used to be one of the biggest shopping malls in France. The river is still available to ocean-going vessels.


Nijmegen (Holandia)

Nijmegen is one of the 2 most important cities in Holland. In 2003, the city celebrated its 200 birthday, which makes it the oldest town in Holland. The city is surrounded by hills, forests, and flood polders that create diversified landscape and a vast array of recreational possibilities for both citizens and tourists. Nijmegen is one of the four pretenders to the title of the European Green Capital 2017.


logosy stopka

Konkurs sfinansowany jest ze środków Narodowego Funduszu Ochrony Środowiska i Gospodarki Wodnej

2016 © Ministerstwo Środowiska / Ministry of Environment Poland